clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NBA awards are pretty stupid.

But hey, congratulations, Tyson!


Tyson Chandler had a dominant defensive season in 2011-2012. NBA media voted him Defensive Player of the Year. NBA coaches voted him to the second team all-defense.

Tyson Chandler had a solid but relatively inferior-- with respect to his previous season and to his peers-- defensive season in 2012-2013. NBA media did not vote him anywhere near Defensive Player of the Year. Marc Gasol got that award. NBA coaches voted Chandler to first team all-defense (in a tie with Joakim Noah). Gasol got voted to the second team. Iman Shumpert got one vote.

None of this matters because these awards are incredibly stupid, but congratulations!