clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Rookie Knick picked to compete in Slam Dunk Contest

Little brother coming for Obi’s crown

Westchester Knicks v Capital City Gogo Photo by KeShawn Ennis/NBAE via Getty Images

Great news from the NBA today! Not only have two New York Knicks been named All-Star Game reserves, but now Jacob Toppin has been selected to compete in the Slam Dunk Contest.

The other players expected to participate include Jaylen Brown (Celtics), Jamie Jaquez, Jr. (Heat), and Mac McClung (Magic).

McClung is the reigning champ. Jacob’s older brother, Obi (then of the Knicks) claimed the title in 2022 after finishing runner-up the previous season. Jericho Sims of the Knicks dunked it up at the All-Star weekend last year.

The contest will be held during this year’s All-Star Game weekend, to be held in Indianapolis, IN. Toppin has spent most of the season playing for the Westchester Knicks in the G League. In 12 games for the W-Knicks, Jacob has averaged 20.4 points, 8.1 rebounds, and 2.6 assists while shooting 52.6% from the field and 37% from deep (on 5.4 attempts). He has appeared in three games with the big league club, but only for a total of four minutes and has yet to score his first NBA point.

Congratulations Jacob! Here are the previous Knicks who have competed in the contest.

  • 2022-2023 Jericho Sims (C)
  • 2021-2022 Obi Toppin (F) Won
  • 2020-2021 Obi Toppin (F)
  • 2012-2013 James White (SF)
  • 2009-2010 Nate Robinson (G) Won
  • 2008-2009 Nate Robinson (G) Won
  • 2006-2007 Nate Robinson (G)
  • 2005-2006 Nate Robinson (G) Won
  • 1995-1996 Doug Christie (SG)
  • 1991-1992 John Starks (SG)
  • 1989-1990 Kenny Walker (F)
  • 1988-1989 Kenny Walker (F) Won
  • 1986-1987 Gerald Wilkins (SG)
  • 1985-1986 Gerald Wilkins (SG)